Mini-Review: Third Degree by Julie Cross

Posted 21 June, 2014 by Gabbie in Review / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Mini-Review: Third Degree by Julie CrossThird Degree by Julie Cross
Publisher: Flirt on March 25, 2014
Source: NetGalley
Pages: 240
AmazonB&NGoodreads
Fans of Monica Murphy and Tammara Webber will savor this New Adult novel—a story about coming of age in the heat of the moment—from Julie Cross, the internationally bestselling author of the Tempest trilogy.

I used to be “Isabel Jenkins, child prodigy.” As lame as that sounds, at least it was an identity. But now I’m not sure what I am. I just failed the most important exam of my life—the emotional readiness test required to get into a medical residency program—and it turns out my parents can’t stand each other. Now I’m trying to figure out how to pick up the pieces of my life, and that means re-enrolling as a college freshman, but this time I’m shutting the books and majoring in being eighteen.

But so far, my roommate hates me and I’m not into the party scene. The only good thing about school has been getting to know my insanely hot RA. Marshall Collins makes me wonder about everything I missed while I was growing up too fast. Pretty soon we’re hanging out constantly, but for the first time, I find myself wanting more than a no-strings-attached physical relationship. And the lesson I really need is one Marsh definitely can’t teach me: love. Because I’m going to be alone forever if I don’t learn fast.

Here Are My Thoughts

I have read and enjoyed Julie Cross’ young adult series, the Letters to Nowhere series, and this was her first time dabbling in the New Adult age group. Third Degree chronicles the life of a child prodigy and genius, Isabel Jenkins, after she fails the exam necessary to enter residency after medical school. She decides to start over in college but never thought that she would fall for her Residential Advisor.

This novel was just as great as her young adult novels. I enjoyed watching Isabel adapt to life as a regular college student, considering that she had already completed college and medical school once before. It was really funny at times seeing her struggle to fit in. Then there was Marshall, the RA. He was independent and had a couple of medical problems but he really brought Isabel out of her shell and pushed her to do things that she would have never done. He had the opposite personality of Isabel’s. He was chill and fun while she was a bit high-strung and overanalyzing. However, they really complemented each other and their personalities meshed quite well.

Overall, Third Degree was one of the better New Adult novels that I’ve read and I can’t wait to see what else Cross comes out with.

4.5 Stars
Gabbie Signature

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

CommentLuv badge